ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Stabilisation Issues in underwater footage

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Giulia GrimaldiStabilisation Issues in underwater footage
by on Dec 9, 2015 at 5:03:31 pm

Hi,

I am new to AE and mocha.

I am trying to stabilise this clip (https://reels.creativecow.net/film/stabilizing) tracking in mocha and then exporting the info to AE CS5 for stabilisation.

I tracked the red sea squirt in the middle as an object to follow (using the default settings). I export the tracking data to the clipboard and then paste it to the clip in AE.

Here I tried different settings (selecting "anchor points" only, deselecting "position" and changing rotation to 'rotation * -1' 

and Scale to '

x = 10000/scale[0]; y = 10000/scale[1]; [ x, y ];- and playing around with the scale factors, and different combinations of these changes).

However, the video still appears jerky.

Is it because the light motion throws off the blue anchor points in the tracking in mocha - I can see the blue lines "flip"?

What would a good object to track be in a video like this?

What settings should I use in mocha or AE to make the clip smooth and stable?

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Ivan MylesRe: Stabilisation Issues in underwater footage
by on Dec 9, 2015 at 8:34:37 pm

Sorry, but the link in your post produces an error message: "This Video has been Deactivated."

Return to posts index

Giulia GrimaldiRe: Stabilisation Issues in underwater footage
by on Dec 10, 2015 at 12:03:06 am

Apologies. I re-uploaded it at this link: https://reels.creativecow.net/film/24295

Return to posts index

Ivan MylesRe: Stabilisation Issues in underwater footage
by on Dec 10, 2015 at 12:16:09 am