ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Animated objet at stroke end

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Larry DanAnimated objet at stroke end
by on Oct 7, 2015 at 4:38:07 pm

Hi everyone, my name is Larry, I am new to After Effects, and I am already facing my first issues :( I tried for hours but couldn't find a solution so I was hoping I could get some help in here :D
Basically I am trying to create an animated travel map. My main comp (30secs) contains:
- a large AI map
- a solid containing the mask path for the itinerary animated with a stroke
- an image
and basically what i want to do is to stick a moving image to the end of the stroke line.
I looked for a solution and all I could find was to copy the mask path property into the position property of the image

However, when i do that, i can see the new path but it is scaled down not only in size on the map but also in time (all keyframes over 2 secs), and even the first keyframe position does not match.

I am using AE CC 2014.
I am really stuck and i really hope you can help :)

Return to posts index

Kalle KannistoRe: Animated objet at stroke end
by on Oct 7, 2015 at 5:36:00 pm

Hi Larry.

The 2-second keyframe for motion path is the default setting that copying the path always gives an object. The beginning keyframe is at current time indicator and the end keyframe 2 seconds later. you can simply grab the beginning or end keyframe and drag it to where you want it, everything in between will stretch accordingly.

For attaching an animated object, you would be better off pasting the motion path to a null object and parenting the animated object to the null. That way it will follow the motion path but it will be simpler to adjust other properties, like scale, relative position, rotation, etc by changing those properties in the aimated object (or in the null).

Return to posts index