ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Sleek Background Texture?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jerry SmithSleek Background Texture?
by on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:51:24 pm

Quick question for you guys. It's an AE question because I'm not going to go digging around Illustrator or anywhere else.

Question: I have some backgrounds that are just solids. And they look good. But I was playing around with some effects under Effects>Generate and I like one that sorta gives you a marble look. I forget what it is called at the moment. But doesn't matter. Problem with marble is that I need something minimal and sleek. I just want a little hint of texture. I'm a bit worried that the background colorS look a little too simple. Anybody have any suggestions. It will be very subtle as there are line drawings that sit directly on top of the background and so the texture can't distract from them. So, to sum up, what is the most minimal texture? If Steve Jobs and Jon Ive had to choose a texture, what would he choose? Some sort of brushed aluminum look that works for other colors? Can I do that in AE? Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Sleek Background Texture?
by on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:10:30 pm

Yow, that's a tough one to answer because there are so many ways to break up a solid color.

I'd just start playing around with the effects applied to a solid. You'll get to learn what the effects do and how the controls work.

But if you're hell-bent on a recommendation RIGHT NOW, try CC Light Sweep.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Sleek Background Texture?
by on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:05:20 pm

I like to use old paper textured combined with a subtle gradient.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
ThinkCK