ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Need to know name of part of template to change it

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lou HeathNeed to know name of part of template to change it
by on May 22, 2015 at 7:09:56 pm

Its my first time posting, I buy templates and add images and change the text, I often find that the area allowed to insert a logo is too small and when I enlarge the logo beyond a certain point (outside the black box) part of the logo does not show on the final comp, I would like to alter the size of the black box, and I would like to know what the black box is called so I can learn more about it.

If allowed I will try and attach an image to show what I am referring to.

The number in the box is just the template person providing an easy way to identify which number scene the comp is for (I think)but its not relevant anyway.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Lou

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Need to know name of part of template to change it
by on May 22, 2015 at 8:11:04 pm

You've got a somewhat-long road ahead of you.

That "black box" is the Comp Window. The black is the size of the image you're making, measured horizontally & vertically by pixels.

To remove the numeral in that screen shot, highlight the layer "1" in the timeline, and hit the delete key.

A word of advice: this is really, Really, REALLY basic stuff. I suggest you familiarize yourself with the way AE actually works:

http://blogs.adobe.com/aftereffects/2010/01/getting-started-with-after-eff....

You see, template makers assume the user already know how to use AE. If you don't know, a template isn't going to do you much good.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Lou HeathRe: Need to know name of part of template to change it
by on May 22, 2015 at 8:24:08 pm

Hi Dave,