ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Changing scale of an object during a dolly move?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Justin BullChanging scale of an object during a dolly move?
by on Feb 6, 2015 at 5:25:20 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to all of this and appreciate any pointers towards the right resources to learn what I assume is a fairly straightforward task:

I'm trying to create a hologram that "floats" in front of a character. That part is easy enough.

However, as the camera tracks in on the character I want the hologram to change accordingly in size, just as an actual object would as you track past it with a dolly. In other words, the hologram should be a fixed distance from the character throughout the dolly move and, therefore, increase in size at the same approximate rate of the character's size shift.

I've gotten as far as performing a 3D camera track, then creating a null object linked to a point, then linking my hologram layer to that null object.

That looks good for the slight tilt that occurs in the dolly move, but I'm totally lost as to how to now deal with the scale adjustments.

Any pointers would be much appreciated! Feel free to point me in a totally different approach if what I described above isn't the best procedures for this type of thing!

Much gratitude,

Return to posts index

Jeff KayRe: Changing scale of an object during a dolly move?
by on Feb 6, 2015 at 5:49:17 pm

If the objects are in 3D and the 3D pathing is correct then it shouldn't need to have its "scale" adjusted as the object will start to take up more space on the screen as it gets closer.