ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Trapcode Particles accept light

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jul HartTrapcode Particles accept light
by on Nov 29, 2014 at 12:22:34 am

Hey folks,

i am a newbie and already found some good adviceover here. But right now i need you help.

I am using trapcode 2 and i made some smoke particles. I just want to make them to only appear when my light source is shining on them. but i don't find the material optins with "accept light". is it possible to do this with trapcode v2??

Thx for your advice

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Trapcode Particles accept light
by on Nov 29, 2014 at 3:04:39 pm

Place the particles under the light source and change the particle layer's track matte to luma matte. You may need to fudge this a bit if you are using actual 3D lights in AE, by pre-comping them, or using trapcode lux.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Jul HartRe: Trapcode Particles accept light
by on Nov 29, 2014 at 10:23:47 pm

thx for your help.
i tried it and it works for a title but the somke particles are always bright. i tried to do the light like in this tutorial with a light source, a white square, a radial fast blur and a null object point: https://www.videocopilot.net/tutorials/advanced_3d_light_rays/
is there anything wrong? i am trying to fix this for about 10 hours right now but i think i am too stupid :/

Return to posts index

by on Nov 30, 2014 at 11:10:27 pm