ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Batman Transition with After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian Packard
Batman Transition with After Effects
on Apr 4, 2014 at 7:12:58 pm

I have been looking for either a template or a tutorial on creating a transition similar to the 60's Batman transition. I am an IT professional, however; I am still an AE novice so I can track along fine as far as technical instructions. Just FYI.

I've found some posts about the topic but nothing concrete or current.
It seems pretty straight forward to me, rotation, motion blur, zoom etc.
I was hoping to tap some of you more advanced AE users about this.

The application of this will be for an IT instructional video with the Batman symbol replaced with our company logo.

A project file, template or tutorial would be great. Thanks!!

Return to posts index

Kevin Camp
Re: Batman Transition with After Effects
on Apr 4, 2014 at 8:17:28 pm

[Brian Packard] "It seems pretty straight forward to me, rotation, motion blur, zoom"

from what i remember, i think that's pretty much it.

you'd probably want to start of with the video or image that you'd spin. i don't think it matter much what it is, but something that has decent contrast and reasonably colorful.

bring that into a short comp (about 2 seconds) and at the beginning of the comp add a rotation keyframe for that layer, then go to the end of the comp and set the rotation property to around 10 revolutions. enable motion blur for the layer and for the preview (it the option that looks like a little circle with a trail of circles following it).

hit zero on the keypad for a ram preview and make changes to the number of revolutions as needed.

once you have that set, you'd just bring your logo in and animate either the scale property or make the layer 3D (little layer checkbox that looks like a cube) and animate the z position.