ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Masking with brush on Adjustment layer

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David ZappaMasking with brush on Adjustment layer
by on Dec 5, 2013 at 1:35:31 pm

Hi, I immediately apologize if this is a stupid question but I'm pretty new to AE. As a photographer I come from PS and was wondering if it's possible to mask out an adjustment level in AE using the paint-brush tool like you would do in PS.

I read that normally you double click on the layer you want to mask, set the paint panel to Alpha and simply paint brush like you would do in PS.

But if I do that on an adjustment level I don't have the ability to brush and by double clicking on it I get a white layer which makes sense as it is the alpha of the adj level. But why can't I mask it with the brush.

Using shapes even with the feather tool seems (to me) a less cleaner mask.
I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I'd like to have total control on my mask.

Thank you.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Masking with brush on Adjustment layer
by on Dec 5, 2013 at 11:28:30 pm

Not sure of your workflow, but one solution might be to create a solid, paint on the alpha channel of it, place that layer above your adjustment layer and change the adjustment layer track matte to alpha matter(or alpha inverted

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

David ZappaRe: Masking with brush on Adjustment layer
by on Dec 6, 2013 at 12:50:49 pm

John thank you for your kind reply. I was thinking of going that way but I was wondering if there was a more "direct" way.