ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Newbie Q: How to achieve that fast, multiple frame, long scene effect?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kevin Cotterill
Newbie Q: How to achieve that fast, multiple frame, long scene effect?
on May 28, 2013 at 1:52:50 am

I'm new to video editing so apologies if this info is freely available online.

I'm helping my won with a project and I want to record him building a lego set. But it will take him several hours, therefore I don't want one long scene.

I've seen other videos of people constructing things, and it's a 'frame effect' (sorry, my best attempt at describing it). It's as if someone has taken 1000's of photos, but I know it's a camcorder.

It's great because my son can take breaks without it affecting the shoot. And I can help him with the set, also without me being in the video.

I'm probably not describing it too well. I'm sure someone knows what the heck I'm talking about.

I have adobe after effects so I'm thinking it's a feature within that? Or is it camcorder specific?

Thanks.

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: Newbie Q: How to achieve that fast, multiple frame, long scene effect?
on May 28, 2013 at 2:48:21 am

What you are describing is a timelapse. You would set up your video camera in a location and record the scene, bring it into your editing program and just speed up the footage. In AE, you would do this with either Time-stretching and time-remapping.

Some video cameras also have functions to assist in a timelapse, by only shooting 1 second of video every minute(or however you set it up). So you should check out to see if your camera has this functionality.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."