ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Linear wipe reveals moving text

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dan Caldwell
Linear wipe reveals moving text
on May 14, 2013 at 1:41:05 am

Hello:

I'm relatively new to AE and need to do something very simple. I need to have a word of animated text be "revealed" as it rotates into position. The curved text rotates in about a round object. I think I need to use a Linear wipe with a feathered edge (that's what I would do back in the day on a switcher) but I can't make it work. The wipe needs to only affect the word of text and not the layers below. Any help for an idiot would be greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: Linear wipe reveals moving text
on May 14, 2013 at 11:45:06 am

Off the top of my head did you apply the wipe directly to your text? Also, which render engine are using?

It would help if you could post a screen grab of you comp window and timeline with any effects, transformations twirled open. You can post the screen grabs here using the 3rd to last icon above the reply dialogue.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Dan Caldwell
on May 14, 2013 at 2:28:54 pm

Hello:

Thanks for replying. This is an embarrassingly simple task but I'm up against a deadline and can't get it to work. I'm rebuilding this open for HD use. I need the words "Hall" and "Fame" to rotate down into their current positions from about 90 degrees back clockwise and counterclockwise respectively and be revealed as they rotate past the Texas element without masking the lower elements.