ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

RotoScoping Versus Masking

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lou WilliamsRotoScoping Versus Masking
by on May 9, 2013 at 10:47:22 am

I have scene that I am working on. It's the interior of an airplane and I need to replace what is currently being seen outside the airplane window. In the scene passengers arms are in constant motion across the window. I am pretty sure I can use a mask and change the shape frame by frame, but I was thinking about rotoscoping since those tools seem to be able to create an outline pretty quick with just minor fixes between frames. However rotoscoping seems be for cutting out the outline area I need it to exclude that area. I am pretty new to AE and rotoscoping in general, so I am not sure this is correct way to use this tool. Is this a good approach? Any suggestions would be a help. Thanks.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: RotoScoping Versus Masking
by on May 9, 2013 at 12:58:40 pm

I find I get a little frustrated using masks to rotoscope and generally prefer the rotobrush to do this type of work. The rotobrush isn't that intuitive though and I'd suggest you take a look at some of the tutorials and information about it before you start. I think this one is really good:

AfterEffects CS5: RotoBrush

Take a look and if you have more questions get back to us.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: RotoScoping Versus Masking
by on May 10, 2013 at 6:05:37 pm

I suppose this shot is in the can with no chance whatsoever of re-shooting. That's too bad.