ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Pan and scan + render video

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Daniel Skogstad
Pan and scan + render video
on Apr 21, 2013 at 11:14:51 am

Hi, I am very new to After Effects, but have experience with Photoshop and Flash professional.

Please see this printscreen to see my problem.

http://bildr.no/image/1442774.jpeg

I am trying to make a very short video. What I want is to pan and scan the selected area and then render the video.

I know how to render the video, but the problem is that the whole area on the video is included not just the selected area.

I guess my problem is that I choose "region of interest" to select that area. My question is what do I need to choose so this my selected area is the only area in the rendered movie?

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: Pan and scan + render video
on Apr 21, 2013 at 3:09:53 pm

Daniel, the image you uploaded is 150x84, that's way to small for anyone to diagnose the problem. You can upload full size images at the Cow, it's the third to last icon in the reply dialogue.

As for your problem-Region of Interest(ROI) is used for preview rendering within After Effects. If you have complex scenes that take up a lot of CPU/RAM, people use ROI to just work in specific areas.

You need to change the entire composition if you want to render less. There are a few ways to do this. One press, select your composition and press "Cntl+K" to open the comp settings dialogue-and enter in new dimensions. You can even select the preview button and get live updates on your new settings. Most likely you will have to re-position your image if you choose this method.

Another method would be to use the ROI button(located below the comp window), select the area you want to be seen in your final render, then go the menu bar > Composition > Crop to Region of Interest. This will crop your comp exactly to the new size.