ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Pre-comps and matching animation. Any tips, suggestions for better workflow?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Yoshiko TanakaPre-comps and matching animation. Any tips, suggestions for better workflow?
by on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:12:20 pm

Hi,

I am a newbie for After Effects (switching from Flash). I am making a character animation and working with pre-comps now. The difficulty that I'm having is to work efficiently with pre-comps.

For example if I am working on an animation of two men talking to each other. I would make one pre-comp for a man A and another pre-comp for man B. They talk and sometimes shake hands or react to what they say to each other. Matching(or synching) two separate clips on main timeline is quite simple in Flash but in After Effects I have to go into each pre-comp and adjust the keyframe every time I need to match it with other clips. Is there any other way or better and efficient way to handle syncing and match pre-comp clips in main timeline? (I also start getting so many pre-comps and I'm getting a bit concerned if I'm doing it right...)

I would love to hear your expert opinions or tips. Thank you again!

Y

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Pre-comps and matching animation. Any tips, suggestions for better workflow?
by on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:20:00 am

Couple of things. First go to your Edit > Preferences > General and check "Synchronize Time of All Related Items". Now when you move your Current Time Indicator(CTI) in the Main Comp it will move the CTI in the precomps. And if you move the CTI in the precomp it will move in the Main Comp as well.