ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to write text in Light Streaks

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Price
How to write text in Light Streaks
on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:26:46 pm

Hey,
Right, I was playing around in AE watching tutorials and stuff and I was able to make a light streak which looked pretty cool, then I took it into FCPX and put some music to it, which made an idea spring to my head which was to make it an intro for my youtube channel, now I want to change it a bit and make the light streak actually spell something out (my youtube name) I have read around and people say about masking the text and then copying the light path data into the light position property. How do I do that? I'm fairly new to after effects, I know how to do some things, but others like this I am very confused. So basically, for a dummy, how do I make a light streak spell something out? Try to be as simple as possible, because like I said, I'm fairly new to AE. Thanks for all your help,
Chris

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: How to write text in Light Streaks
on Mar 29, 2013 at 1:00:34 am

There are a few ways to do this, but what it boils down to is you want to do a "write-on" effect. Use the text tool to create your youtube name. Now using the mask tool, draw a rough path where you want your light streak to follow. You will probably need to loop over some places, come up with ways to go from one letter to the next...