ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Duplicating layers question

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lillian FidlerDuplicating layers question
by on May 5, 2014 at 1:05:27 am

Hi: I'm fairly new at this. I have a template which I am editing. Basically it's like a slideshow and the composition has about 20 scenes which include several effects and a photo. I want to add more scenes to this composition. However, when I duplicate a scene and try to replace the photograph it replaces the photo in the previous scene as well. it's like they are linked. I've tried everything and researched to no avail. I'm sure this is probably a simple solution. Hope it makes sense.

Lillian Fidler
Jillian Productions
St. John's, Newfoundland

Return to posts index

Ryan DawsonRe: Duplicating layers question
by on May 9, 2014 at 3:23:54 am

Sounds like you are duplicating the composition or "scene" within the timeline. Duplicate the comp in the project window, then put that new comp in your timeline instead. You can then open that comp and replace the photo with any picture you want.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Duplicating layers question
by on May 5, 2014 at 1:50:49 pm

When you make duplicates of precomps/layers, where you duplicate it makes a difference if you are making a copy of what you have or are you creating a new asset. Also, when working with Comps, that have precomps, with precomps inside those--unless you make all new precomps and nest them properly inside, when you duplicate you will end up with links to the original.