ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Creating a path to move both text, image layer and masks together

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jeanette Wilkinson
Creating a path to move both text, image layer and masks together
on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:18:34 am

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to Adobe After Effects and apologies if this is a really simple solution but I appreciate your feedback:

I have some 3 photos over which I added some text, subtracted it so I could see through it and then added a stroke/mask for each individual letter to create the vintage postcard effect where the inside of the text also has a white border.

I therefore now have one Text layer, and one pre-composed layer with all of the individual text masks and the stroke that created the white outline for the letters.

How can I now create a path for this entire composition? I'd like to add a curve to the entire image/text rather than it be in a straight line.

If I create another pre-comp from these 2 layers, I can't seem to select the entire image to add a path.

Thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: Creating a path to move both text, image layer and masks together
on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:10:43 pm

One approach is to use a mask as a path, twirl open your text > Path Options > Path and choose the mask as the path. Copy the mask to the other text layers. You can create a "parent" mask that controls the child masks also, so you only have to adjust one path. Just copy the first mask to the child layers, open up the mask properties, alt-click on "mask path" and pick whip that to your "parent" mask path.

I made an example project that should help you start out: 5641_curvetext.zip

Also, under the obsolete effects is a Path Text effect that will accomplish what you want, but if you use that, you are giving up a lot of control and animation properties that you have with the text tool.