ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Morphing a letter into a logo

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vicki Williams
Morphing a letter into a logo
on Feb 10, 2013 at 3:20:19 am

Please forgive me, I am extremely new to After Effects. I am morphing a letter into a logo using mask paths. While morphing the two shapes, there are anchor points from the original letter I do not need for the logo shape. However when I delete them, the original letter shape is changed. Is there a way I can delete anchor points without altering the shape of the original form?

Thank you.

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
Re: Morphing a letter into a logo
on Feb 10, 2013 at 4:32:34 am

First of all, be careful with the terminology: Anchor points are something entirely different in After Effects. The term for mask path points is 'vertex'.

That said, why is it important for you to delete these points?

Are you using smart mask interpolation?
http://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/using/animating-shape-paths-masks.html...
It makes interpolating between shapes with different numbers of points easier.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering
After Effects team blog
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
on Feb 10, 2013 at 4:35:08 am

BTW, I recommend starting here to learn After Effects: http://adobe.ly/bjBT3P

Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering
After Effects team blog

Return to posts index

Vicki Williams
on Feb 10, 2013 at 5:47:30 am