ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Still image effect seen in documentaries

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike JacksStill image effect seen in documentaries
by on Jan 17, 2013 at 5:18:31 pm

Hello All,

I am new to the creative cow community I am happy I joined. I have been working on a project for a while and I am trying to achieve a particular effect i have seen in some documentaries. it almost look like they actually shot video of the stills. Do anyone know how this is done check out this video 15:36- 15:46

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Still image effect seen in documentaries
by on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:23:36 pm

In those instances, I'm pretty sure they actually used something to stand the photo up, added some lights and actually shot picture.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

by on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:48:38 pm

FYI, you could recreate it in AE if you wanted, but it won't look as good as it would if you really did shoot it.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."

Return to posts index

Mike JacksRe: Still image effect seen in documentaries
by on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:15:53 pm

Thanks Johnny! Can you point me in the direction on how I can do this in AE

Return to posts index

by on Jan 17, 2013 at 10:04:50 pm

Are you more interested in moving the photo in AE? If that's the case you should look at this page of Tutorials and start with the one on keyframes.