ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Masking long orbiting text string

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Scott Bulmer
Masking long orbiting text string
on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:25:55 am

Greetings,

I am new with AE CS6, but would greatly appreciate any technical advice if possible. Please note that this is my first posting here.

I have created and inserted two compositions into a master composition.
In composition (Orbiting Text), I have successfully generated 3D text and set the path to orbit around an axis. Further, I have successfully created a second composition (Orbiting Logo), where a rotating camera and null layer are used to generate the motion. These two compositions are placed within the master composition (Earth In Galaxy). The first two compositions are set to Ray-Trace 3D, with the master composition set to Classic 3D. I have successfully created a mask for the orbiting logo so that it is hidden behind the earth, then properly reveals itself as it orbits around to the front.

The issue I am having is with the orbiting text. The length of the text causes it to be in front of the Earth and behind it at the same time. I am at a loss as to how to achieve the effect of hiding what is behind the Earth while keeping that in front and to the side visible.

Thank you in advance for any ideas how this can be achieved.
Scott

Mac Pro Quad Core, OS X 10.8.2, CS6

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: Masking long orbiting text string
on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:51:29 am

Can you post a screen grab of your comp window(third to last icon), I'm having a little understanding exactly the issue.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index