ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to make logo letters animate individually and together?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
brad hebert
How to make logo letters animate individually and together?
on Nov 19, 2012 at 8:46:40 am

I'm pretty new to AE. I have a logo. The first letter is an image and the rest is text. I'm guessing this is a common thing to do:

I'd like to make it all 3D (extrusion?). And I'd like to have all the individual parts fly in separately and lock into the logo, pan the full logo around and then explode/shatter it.

I'm learning that there are a lot of ways (some better than others) to do the same thing in AE. Is there a standard way to do what I'm looking for?

Return to posts index

Vishesh Arora
Re: How to make logo letters animate individually and together?
on Nov 19, 2012 at 9:32:39 am

Brad

Shatter Simulation can be used in many ways as per the requirement.
Watch this tutorial on Shatter Simulation:

For creating Extruded Logo:

Vishesh Arora
3D and Motion Graphics Artist
Films Rajendra

Blog:
http://digieffects.wordpress.com

Demo Reel(3D):

Return to posts index

brad hebert
on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:34:54 am

Thanks, this sends me down a good path. Great videos!

Return to posts index

brad hebert
on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:41:01 am

Actually, I tried importing an AI file, but there is no "create shapes from vector layer" option. Is that because I'm using CS5.5? If so, is there something else I can do?

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:36:37 pm

Add you layer to a composition and select the layer. Now on the menu bar go to Layer > Create Shapes from Vector Layer.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.