ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Text Tool Bounding Box is masking / clipping my light-ray text effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Greg SaxtonText Tool Bounding Box is masking / clipping my light-ray text effect
by on Oct 4, 2012 at 12:12:14 am

Hi There

I have an issue with the bounding box on the line of text that I am trying to animate. I'm sure its a simple fix but I am a noob and have now spent way too many hours on this.

I am trying to create a light-ray effect where I have a line of text which has light rays shining out from behind it when the camera moves across it.

The trouble is that when I do this, the light rays only extend to the edges of the text's bounding box before being clipped / masked, which makes for a pretty un spectacular effect. Can anyone suggest where I am going wrong??

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Text Tool Bounding Box is masking / clipping my light-ray text effect
by on Oct 4, 2012 at 1:38:05 am

Create your text, then go to the Layer Pulldown -> New -> Adjustment Layer and add your effect to the adjustment layer.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Greg SaxtonRe: Text Tool Bounding Box is masking / clipping my light-ray text effect
by on Oct 4, 2012 at 4:54:42 am

Thanks for responding Johnny.

Unfortunately that does not solve the problem.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Text Tool Bounding Box is masking / clipping my light-ray text effect
by on Oct 4, 2012 at 11:20:20 am

What effect are you using, also what is the copy of text above your the adjustment layer for?