ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Pr Pro link to Ae issues-CS6

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
nader subaihPr Pro link to Ae issues-CS6
by on Sep 12, 2012 at 10:43:50 pm

Hi,
I am attempting to replace clips in Pr Pro with composition in Ae. I am using CS6 and I am new to Ae.
The issue that i am having and is that each clip in my video tracks in Pr becomes its own comp in Ae. so rather than getting one comp with one layer for each video clip. i get one comp with a bunch of comps for each clip. importing one clip from Pr (even without audio), translate to a composition within the main composition.
inside each sub comp is the original source video, unedited.
I saw a video of someone doing dynamic link and they are not getting a comp but rather they get a clip as a layer.

how could i get the same results? is it something i am doing wrong? I would like to get one comp with only video layers .
thanks in advance.
Nader

Return to posts index

Robert HeadrickRe: Pr Pro link to Ae issues-CS6
by on Sep 13, 2012 at 4:43:29 pm

He actually is getting a comp in that video, the difference is that since he's only dynamically linking one clip from his timeline, you're seeing inside that comp (same as you've been getting with your tests, where within each "sub comp" you're seeing the source video, unedited). If he were to continue clicking additional clips in his Premiere Pro timeline and selecting File --> Adobe Dynamic Link --> Replace With After Effects Composition, each one would add a new comp to his AE file, and inside that comp would be the single video clip that he had sent over from Premiere.

This is the normal, expected workflow if you're going through your timeline and individually picking out single clips to send to After Effects one at a time.