ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

how to make a vector graphic disappear behind trees in my video layer?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Erik Irwinhow to make a vector graphic disappear behind trees in my video layer?
by on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:26:10 pm

I'm not sure if I worded that properly but I'm trying to make the vectored solstice script disappear behind the trees in the video when it pans down to the ground. Any one that can help me achieve this effect it would be appreciated. I thought it was going to be simple but I'm stuck on it right now, also i'm new to After Effects. thanks!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: how to make a vector graphic disappear behind trees in my video layer?
by on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:48:58 pm

I'd duplicate the video layer, and apply the Threshold effect. You ought to get a good delineation between trees and sky. Add solids to make it white on black, precomp it and use it as a luma or luma inverted matte for the writing.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Erik IrwinRe: how to make a vector graphic disappear behind trees in my video layer?
by on Sep 12, 2012 at 1:46:31 am

thanks Dave and Chris, I'm going to practice both ways to get the feel for it. Much appreciated!

Return to posts index

chris brettRe: how to make a vector graphic disappear behind trees in my video layer?
by on Sep 11, 2012 at 10:28:10 pm

Hi Erik

Another option might be as below

1 ) make 2 copies of the backround layer so you have 3 in total

2 ) Comp the lettering over the background on the bottom layer .... this will give you lettering in front of the trees which might sound like I've missed the point but there is method here ...