ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Shatter Glass Effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Armando Dela Cruz
Shatter Glass Effect
on Aug 26, 2012 at 10:53:19 am

I'm an aspiring graphics artist, and I've been wondering for a year now if it's possible to emulate the Final Destination 5 title sequence broken glass effect?

This is what I want to achieve:

I'm on a deadline and I really want to create this effect. :) Thanks in advance cows! :D

Moviephile? Let's be friends.
Follow my blog.
http://thefilmpolice.blogspot.com/

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: Shatter Glass Effect
on Aug 26, 2012 at 4:32:15 pm

If you are just learning this is a high intermediate project to tackle, but still doable.

First off here are a few tutorials, you should check out to familiarize yourself with the techniques needed to accomplish this.

Basic Shatter(an oldie, but provides a good foundation for understand shatt...

Custom Shatter Maps

Shattering Glass Tutorial-good tutorial using shatter

So I attempted to recreate the project from the opening credits in your link. Step 1 was to create a pre-comp(PC_Text) with the text fading & scaling up.

Next I grabbed an explosion still from the web and quickly animated it in its own precomp(PC_Explosion). Obviously if you were doing this for a real set of credits you would want to buy some explosion footage to use.

I also found some broken glass and dropped that into a precomp(PC_Shatter Map) to use as a custom shatter map. In my project I created to final compositions, one using the shatter map(it's VERY rough, creating your own will produce MUCH BETTER results) and one using AE's default glass shatter map.