ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Cleaning up a panning shot

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Marcus Barrie
Cleaning up a panning shot
on Aug 8, 2012 at 3:37:00 pm

Hello folks!

I have a shot I'm trying to fix in After Effects of a Tennis Court that has a ton of cracks in it. The camera pans from right to left. I've tried multiple ways like tracking the court in Mocha and then applying the data to a Photoshop file which I touched up. However the results aren't the greatest and due to the pan it doesn't seem to match up by the end of the pan. Any thoughts on a better technique to doing this? I am new to Mocha as well so any tips and tutorials would be great as well.

Thanks,

Marcus.

Return to posts index

Vishesh Arora
Re: Cleaning up a panning shot
on Aug 8, 2012 at 3:59:39 pm

Mr. Barrie,
Just try to use the default AE motion tracker. While choosing the area to be tracked, select the "Lights" of middle pole. That will definitely work :)

I am a keen learner and am very keen on pursuing a career in the animation industry. My artistic skills are mostly self-
taught. I have a deep knowledge base of Photoshop, Maya, Adobe Premiere, After Effects, Final Cut Pro and Sony Vegas.

Return to posts index

chris brett
on Aug 8, 2012 at 4:35:30 pm

Hi Vishesh -

... nothing to do with this post but in response to your reply regarding my animation query...

........ if you are in the UK you might be interested in what I'm up to at the moment -- currently re-building my motion graphics / fx profile after taking a break for a bit and looking for new contacts - lots of industry experience - if interested please mail me direct at chris@studio3birmingham.com.

------------ all the best --

Chris Brett

Return to posts index

Marcus Barrie
on Aug 8, 2012 at 4:43:43 pm

Hi Vishesh,