ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Can I scrub the timeline in AE (CS4)?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vic Noseworthy
Can I scrub the timeline in AE (CS4)?
on Jun 18, 2012 at 1:19:40 pm

Hi guys.
Sorry to post two back-to-back questions on the same forum. I'm completely new to After Effects, and (as I'm sure you know) it's a whopper of a program. I've watched many (many!) of the Lynda.com tutorials, but it was a lot to absorb. I'm wondering if I can click and drag (i.e. "scrub") the timeline. It seems I can't; rather, I have to click along the top of the timeline for an updated frame in the viewer window (if it's called "viewer"). This makes it pretty complicated in making adjustments to animations. Is there somewhere I can turn on scrubbing?
Thanks again!
Vic

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Can I scrub the timeline in AE (CS4)?
on Jun 18, 2012 at 3:10:43 pm

Here's the short answer: no.

Here's a more elaborate answer: AE doesn't work like a video editing application. It was never intended to work like a video editing application. You have to learn new ways of working.

You'll probably want to read up on viewing and previewing:
http://helpx.adobe.com/content/help/en/after-effects/using/previewing1.html

If you happen to read that you can use the space bar, ignore it. It stinks. Doesn't work well at all. Just forget it exists.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Vic Noseworthy
on Jun 18, 2012 at 3:48:11 pm

Hi Dave,
Thanks so much for your help. I've been looking at the link you provided, and it indicates that scrubbing is possible. Specifically, it says:
Manually preview (scrub) video and audio
To manually preview (scrub) video in the Timeline panel or go to a specific frame, drag the current-time indicator.