ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Exported AE file is only 74 seconds but nearly 8 GB... (?)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vic Noseworthy
Exported AE file is only 74 seconds but nearly 8 GB... (?)
on Jun 17, 2012 at 5:46:55 am

Hi folks,
I'm completely new to AE, and just created a very basic composition. When I exported it, two things happened that were weird:
1). Only the central part of the canvas was exported (i.e. a wide, wide margin... about 50%... was cropped off all the way around
2). The outputted file was HUGE. Nearly 8 gigs! FYI: I opened it in MPEG Streamclip and exported it as an AIC file with a 1920x1080 setting and the resulting file was a much more manageable 500 megs or so (of course, that file still had much of the image cropped off).
Any ideas what settings I need to change for a proper output file?
Thanks very much. I really appreciate any advice you can offer.
Vic

Return to posts index

Tero Ahlfors
Re: Exported AE file is only 74 seconds but nearly 8 GB... (?)
on Jun 17, 2012 at 10:31:46 am

If you didn't set any export options it defaults to an uncompressed codec.

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
on Jun 17, 2012 at 4:13:01 pm

Tero is correct.

There's more information here:
"FAQ: Why is my output file huge...?"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
product manager, professional video software
After Effects team blog
Premiere Pro team blog
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Return to posts index

Vic Noseworthy
on Jun 18, 2012 at 12:41:26 pm