ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Shatter delay

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gib O'ConnorShatter delay
by on Jun 9, 2012 at 3:34:32 pm

Hi guys :)
I am a novice at using AE-CS6 and just managed to shatter a picture. Now my question is: How do i delay the shatter effect so the picture will stay a few sec's longer on screen before shattering ? It begins to shatter the moment i press the play button so i don't really see the picture.
2- Can i make the video go slower (i mean the shatter effect) so that it doesn't finish in just a few secs )
Many thanks in advance for your answers/help.

Gib :)

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Shatter delay
by on Jun 9, 2012 at 9:42:27 pm

Since you are new to AE, I would strongly suggest you start here. The ones at video copilot and the series by Andrew Davis(from the COW) are both excellent.

Also here is a link to Basic Shatter: Introduction to the Shatter Effect

I am a novice at using AE-CS6 and just managed to shatter a picture. Now my question is: How do i delay the shatter effect so the picture will stay a few sec's longer on screen before shattering ? It begins to shatter the moment i press the play button so i don't really see the picture.

Shatter is created when the force hits the layer and in the "force/wireframe" view you can see it's already interacting with the layer(the force is blue, what your layer will shatter into is grey). Just twirl down "Force" and move it so it's not smashing into the layer, key frame it's position and it will explode the layer whenever you want. You can also move the force so it shatters your layer from different places, change it's size...

2- Can i make the video go slower (i mean the shatter effect) so that it doesn't finish in just a few secs )