ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects Rendering Times Seem Very Slow

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Britt Dyer
After Effects Rendering Times Seem Very Slow
on Jun 6, 2012 at 1:52:37 pm

Hey all, I'm a newbie to AE - working on my first AE project using a template I purchased online - so I'll do my best to explain the project and issue. I typically used Apple Motion and never encountered the render times that I am getting in AE

First, Macbook Pro i7, 4cores 8GB of RAM

Project is a minute long, contains 6 video drop zones which I am using Quicktime files using the ProRes 422 codec. I used the prerendered project in the purchased template as well.

It is a very graphic intensive project with 3D animations, moves, reflections...the works. I'm trying to render at 1280x720, even smaller sizes choke the system.

I've hit the forums and have turned on Render Multiple Frames Simul., made 6.5 GB RAM available to AE and gave 2GB RAM allocation per background CPU.

Each time I try and render it says it is going to take usually over an hour for this 1 minute of footage. Is this normal? Can I speed this up at all? I need to be able to review it if I have to make changes and losing my computer for an hour or more at a time is difficult.

I'll keep poking around, but if anyone can help out I'd love to hear feedback.

Thanks in advance

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: After Effects Rendering Times Seem Very Slow
on Jun 6, 2012 at 3:51:59 pm

Depending on layers, effects, cameras & motion blur 1 hour might not be out of line. For example I created some opens (10 seconds) with faux reflections, cameras, lights, particles and effects-total of around 60 layers and the average render time was 38 minutes.