ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

creating vector from AI to AE

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Arie-Jan Vennik
creating vector from AI to AE
on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:28:46 am

Hello all,

This is my first post on creative Cow. I'm a fairly newbie to using the adobe package, and I have encountered a problem which I can't seem to solve.

I got three images that I would like to convert to vector, so I can use them in AE (I need to zoom in on them without losing quality). I tried live trace (using all sorts of formats) in AI, saving it as an .AI.
The edges were strait and they looked good. When I zoomed they remained sharp. After importing into AE, the images looked pixelated and got blurry when I zoomed in.

I tried all the advice that I read in many fora, including the ones on Adobe and creative cow, but nothing seemed to work. Even using Vector Magic did not give me the required result. After many days searching and trying I'm at a complete loss and I have only so much hair left to pull from my skull :-s.
Does anyone have any advice? Please, you would greatly help.
If need be I can post the files I need vectorized in any format for you to have a look at.

kind regards,
Arie-Jan

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: creating vector from AI to AE
on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:33:25 pm

In adobe you need to enable the Continuously rasterize checkbox, it looks like a little sun. If you don't see it, click your composition timeline and press F and it your "switches" column should come up.

Continuously rasterize a layer containing vector graphics

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Arie-Jan Vennik
on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:08:24 pm

Hi John,