ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How can I create an animated path for text that is a composition?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stephanie Johnson
How can I create an animated path for text that is a composition?
on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:38:29 pm

(First, I'm still very new to After Effects CS5.)

I'm practicing skills, putting together a piece that includes a lot of text animated on a path with corners and curves. I love it, looks great.

Now, I have some text that has video inside of it. To create that, I ended up with a composition.

My question, how can I create a path for my text that is a composition? My pen tool wants to create a shape instead of a path, it's blue instead of yellow and I don't have the same options. I can't figure it out. I can obviously move it with my transform options, but it won't move along those curves and corners.

What am I missing? What do I need to do? Help!

I appreciate any help.

Stephanie Johnson

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: How can I create an animated path for text that is a composition?
on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:41:52 am

I'm not fully understanding the problem. Just to be clear you have a composition with video in it, you have text over that video and you are using the text as a track matte for the video, creating text with video in it.

You bring this composition into a new project and want to animate it, but are just creating shape layers? Is your precomped video-text layer selected, or any layer selected? That's usually the reason I create shape layers when I did not intend to do that.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Stephanie Johnson
on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:04:38 pm