ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

New hardware: iMac 27" 3.4 or Mac pro Xeon quad 3.2?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Christopher LevinNew hardware: iMac 27" 3.4 or Mac pro Xeon quad 3.2?
by on Mar 28, 2012 at 2:14:13 am

Hello folks,

first time posting here -

I am a motion graphics student with some video editing experience. I work mostly with After Effects and maya, so I use Premiere for editing because of Adobe dynamic link. Lately I have been getting a lot of people asking if I can do editing jobs, but I keep having to pass them up because my current work station can't handle dslr footage. I am looking to upgrade hardware so I can at least be working towards my field while in school.
Could anyone offer advice or experience here? I am looking at either a

Mac Pro Xeon 3.2Ghz or a
27" iMac corei7 3.4Ghz.

I am thinking to have a solid state boot for whichever one I get, and get about 16G of ram from the Crucial website rather than directly from Apple. The Mac pro is so much more expensive, especially because it doesn't have a monitor. I wonder if it would be worth it in the long haul especially since I am wanting to work for a production house rather than pursue freelance as a career.
Anybody work with either one of these machines? Both? How do they respond to adobe dynamic link? 3D programs like Maya?

currently working on: matthewruns.com (filming, editing, VFX)
some student work: vimeo.com/blackjavachris
more student work: youtube.com/user/blackjavachris

Return to posts index

Al BergsteinRe: New hardware: iMac 27" 3.4 or Mac pro Xeon quad 3.2?
by on Mar 28, 2012 at 3:30:50 pm