ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Artifacts with Custom Shatter Map

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shana NunezArtifacts with Custom Shatter Map
by on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:30:04 pm

Hi there -

I'm pretty new to After Effects and I've been working on a project where I'm taking a logo (designed in dots) and using the shatter effect to bring it together. I'm using a custom shatter map and setting the shatter map image back to the logo image itself. This gives me the perfect shatter effect where my dots separate out just as I was wanting. However, I'm getting some bad artifacts as well as my dots becoming pixelated around the edges themselves.

I've watched two tutorials on this site on using the custom shatter map. I've tried a couple of different things like duplicating my logo and recoloring it, making it black and white, using colorama on it, etc. but all give me worse results.

What am I missing here? Thank you so much in advance for any tips you can give!

Here's the render of the logo comp (I'm reversing this for my effect).

And here's a zoomed in image of my "confetti" artifacts I'm getting.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Artifacts with Custom Shatter Map
by on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:01:15 pm

Could this be a resolution issue? What's the resolution of your shatter layer?

Could this be an aliasing issue? What's the file format of your logo made out of dots, and what's its resolution?

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Artifacts with Custom Shatter Map
by on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:12:57 am

I think your smoothness problem is because shatter can't anti-alias.