ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Just cant get the quality in AE output!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Scott Willoghby
Just cant get the quality in AE output!
on Feb 4, 2012 at 10:32:01 pm

Hi guys,

I'm a total newbie at AE and wonder if someone can point me in the right direction.

I've been asked by a local guy (Wedding Videographer) to create something a little more exciting for his titles than just a standard set of titles which fade in/fade out. He's using a Sony DSR250 PAL DVCAM, 4:3, 25fps camera, and has understandably asked for the Titles to replicate these settings.

I'm keen to use AE to do this, and to date have found it very interesting. My problem is, that with the exception of one particular "test" title, all of them look terrible - artifacts, soft edges, even to the point of being blurred after final output.

The only success I've had, was to create a high quality composition (HDTV1080P), and then output it as an FLV file - this looks acceptable, and reasonably sharp, however once we add it to Encore & build the DVD, it's back to being soft again when viewed on a normal domestic TV.

I've tried using various rendering settings in AE (H.264, FLV etc), and tweeking CBR, VBR, 1 / 2 pass, high rendering etc., and also tried importing the raw AE project (aep & aepx files)into Premiere Pro, but even then, the pixelation within Premiere pro looks terrible - even on the program & preview windows, so there's little point is trying to export from here. Settings in both AE & Premiere Pro, are set to Full Resolution, so I've no idea why a simple title sequence should look this bad. The basic titles in PP look great - sharp, crisp, so what on earth am I doing wrong?