ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Workflow confusion.. markers between comps and precomps?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul BooneWorkflow confusion.. markers between comps and precomps?
by on Jan 31, 2012 at 9:51:45 pm

Hi, I'm new to AE

I have a composition that is a minute long video, and in that comp I have 9 precomps that are around 6-8 seconds each.

I have markers on my soundtrack and my main composition and separately in my precomps.. I want to find the same point of the precomp that is in my main composition.. inside of my precomp..

So, I want to edit to the soundtrack in my pre-comps but am trying to figure out how to find the spot to position the song. If I put the clips in the precomp at the same point of time as is measured in the timeline of both, my keyframes are before 0 and I can't really edit them.. can I?

I don't know if this made any sense at all, but do you have any workflow tips for editing a composition with many precomps inside, to music?

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Workflow confusion.. markers between comps and precomps?
by on Jan 31, 2012 at 10:41:52 pm

Go to Edit > Preferences and check "Synchronize Time of all Related Items".

Now in your master comp if you double click precomp 4 at 55 secs, it will open up that precomp at what would be 55 seconds of your master comp.(hope that makes sense).

So you could copy and paste the audio from the master into the precomps and if you don't move the CTI around, it will be synced.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Angie TaylorRe: #AfterEffects Workflow confusion.. markers between comps and precomps?
by on Feb 1, 2012 at 2:19:17 pm