ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Switching from Motion 4 to After Effects. Tips? Gotchas? frustrated..

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul BooneSwitching from Motion 4 to After Effects. Tips? Gotchas? frustrated..
by on Jan 23, 2012 at 6:02:15 pm

Hi, I've been using Final Cut Studio 2 for a few years, and with the whole FCPX fiasco, I'm jumping ship and switched to the Adobe Production Premium CS5.5

I used Motion 4 enough to feel comfortable, and I thought After Effects would be much quicker of a transfer but many things seem to be done in very different ways.

Are there any tips for a user who knows how to do things in Motion 4 and now wants to those things in After Effects? Any gotchas that are frequently frustrating for users going through this transition. A link to a site that goes into these problems would be great, or tutorials etc. or any tips from your experiences.

Specifically (and there are many),
• I have a sign which has many different layers that I want to drop from the sky together as a single sign. In Motion 4 I would put these things into a group, and could also make subgroups. I know AE uses parent-children.. layers/groups.. but I don't know how. I'd like to keep the text independant so I can animate it on the sign
• Organization! I recieved many Illustrator files, and Photoshop files and now have a hundred different layers. Also Organizing in the project panel

any tips/tricks/gotchas on round-tripping in CS5.5 would also be great

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Switching from Motion 4 to After Effects. Tips? Gotchas? frustrated..
by on Jan 23, 2012 at 6:18:06 pm