ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Importing rule of thumb?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Eric HamiltonImporting rule of thumb?
by on Jan 15, 2012 at 12:49:47 am

I'm fairly new to After Effects and was wondering if anyone could explain the best way to utilize the importing of files into AE.

I want to know how to get the best quality of these files as well as import them properly and so that After Effects won't have a heart attack or run out of RAM.

(NOTE: Im using CS4, but will be getting CS5 in the near future!)

Here are the 3 kinds of file types that I'm concerned with:

- .mov files
- PSD files
- Image files in general (is TIFF best for this or something else?)

Hope someone can help me out so I can begin my next project!
It would be very appreciated!

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Importing rule of thumb?
by on Jan 15, 2012 at 12:56:30 pm

There isn't anything to do to get the best quality of the files, when you import them AE, doesn't compress or do anything, they keep their native resolution/dimensions.

Maintaining the quality of the files is depends on what you do in AE, if scale a layer a lot larger then it is, it will start to look bad. Another gotcha is interpreting the video footage incorrectly. Finally rendering to a high quality/lossless file will also keep your video looking it's sharpest.

I'll also add the Michael Szalapski stock answer, since it's appropriate here:
Since you're new to After Effects, I would highly suggest you start here: Link The resources there will help you get a handle on some of the basics.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Importing rule of thumb?