ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

add video to a wall

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lloyd Paul Riversadd video to a wall
by on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:23:41 pm

Im new to after effects and i have a first year University video to get finished. Im trying to add some footage to the side of the actor playing the homeless man. I have put some in as a test but i get these harsh boxes around the images so its obvious its a video. Is there any other way? again im new so any help would be appreciated.

Many Thanks
Lloyd Rivers

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: add video to a wall
by on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:07:50 pm

Could you repost a picture showing the "harsh boxes"? It will be easier to diagnose and offer solutions if we can see exactly where the problem lies.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Lloyd Paul RiversRe: add video to a wall
by on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:21:36 pm

The layer is at the top of the stack. The blend mode is overlay.

Many Thanks
Lloyd Rivers

Return to posts index

by on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:06:54 pm

Is that an ink flow? Generally those are over black, if so, I would attempt building an alpha for it. One effective way to do that is with the handy little "Unmult" plugin. It's free, you can find it at the bottom of the page here:

http://www.redgiantsoftware.com/products/free/

If that isn't a black background, but a white background, I would probably use the Keying > Luma Key effect and "Key out Brighter", that will remove a white background.

After that, I would apply a blending mode.