ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Best Mac configuration right now for after effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lisa Winthrop
Best Mac configuration right now for after effects
on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:25:35 am

Hi. I'm an amateur 2-d amimation/video person. I have taught myself AE on an OLD Mac book pro and it simply does not have the capability to run that program and store all my graphics. I draw and scan in and then add video. But now it barely runs on my current comp and is impossible to use effectively.

I'm ready for a new computer and have converted quite a bit of credit card points into apple gift cards so while money is still a consideration, I have around 4k to play around with (between the gift cards and my $ combined)

I just don't know what configuration to get...and I'd appreciate some advice. Also I would LOVE another laptop since I travel a lot and when I'm traveling is when I have the most time to spend on this avocation. However I don't want to make a bad choice out of convenience. Do you think a Mac book pro is up to the task? And if not what configuration of a Mac pro do yo all advise?

Thanks a lot. I appreciate your feedback.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Best Mac configuration right now for after effects
on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:26:20 pm

Do you also intend to upgrade your version of AE with the purchase of a new computer? It's an important consideration. If not, we'd need to know your current version.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Lisa Winthrop
on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:34:14 pm

Thanks for responding! I would have the most current version of AE.

Return to posts index

Lisa Winthrop
on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:53:29 pm

Actually I think I'd stick with the version I know...the CS3

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:20:11 pm