ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Bezier warp generates unwanted vertices and tangents animations

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nic DaBezier warp generates unwanted vertices and tangents animations
by on Jun 3, 2014 at 7:20:58 pm

Hello!

Newbie here with a question (thus potentially dumb).
I am trying to bezier-warp animate a rectangle to sort of mimic the animation of windows reveal/hide on mac.

The rectangle is originally at the bottom of the composition viewport. Its vertical size is roughly a third of the composition height.

Here are the steps of the animations:
keyframe 1:
- move top left and right vertices and their tangents (the ones of the top edge of the rectangle) to the vertical middle of the "empty" space above the rectangle.
- move the top left and right vertices to the left and right edges of the composition viewport respectively.
- move up the side tangents connected to the aforementioned vertices in order to preserve their original distance from their own vertex.

keyframe 2:
- move top left and right vertices and their tangents (the ones of the top edge of the rectangle) to the top edge of the composition.
- move the side tangents connected to the top vertices sideways until they reach the edges (left/right respectively) of the composition and are aligned with their associated vertex. Then move up these side tangents in order to preserve their original distance from their own vertex.

- move the bottom left/right vertices and their tangents (the ones of the bottom edge of the rectangle) up until the rectangle height reaches the same height/width ration it originally had.
- move the side tangents associated with the bottom vertices up to preserve the distance from their associated vertices.