ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Video Wall large format questions

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
christopher grassoVideo Wall large format questions
by on Sep 10, 2011 at 9:52:18 pm

Hi guys,

Im new to after effects (I normally use premiere CS5 to do my encoding as generally its in standard formats).

My company just purchased 6 samsung UD55A LEDs, and are setting them up in a 3x2 format. since all are full 1080p, the final resolution will be 5760 x 2160. The company has never had a video wall before, so has no specs or workflow for creating video this big.

Since premiere can't handle this sort of resolution, I turned to AE. As a test, I rendered out 150 tiff images out of 3dsmax at 5760x2160, and imported them as a sequence into AE. The only format that appears to be able to handle such a size is uncompressed AVI, which as you know makes the file size enormous (1+ gig per second of animation).

In a previous thread, many people recommended splitting up the video per screen. Is this done in AE, or would I split my rendered images in PS? (this seems like it would take forever to do and to organize).

From what I could read about the system, it uses an MDC (multiple display control), which includes software from samsung, and links the PC and 6 monitors through serial cables. It looks as if windows sees the system as one giant monitor, but some of the details are lost in translation (my parent company is in Tokyo).

Im new to this and looking for any guidance you guys can offer... Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Todd KoprivaRe: Video Wall large format questions
by on Sep 11, 2011 at 3:05:13 am

> Since premiere can't handle this sort of resolution...

Why do you say that?

See this for information about the maximum dimensions of images that Premiere Pro CS5 and later can handle:

Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated