ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

can't get moves on photos right

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Trevor Laurencecan't get moves on photos right
by on Sep 3, 2011 at 8:29:33 pm

I'm pretty new to AE and am using it to redo about 100 moves on photos for a documentary that was edited in Avid. Following directions in Creating Motion Graphics with After Effects by Trish & Chris Meyer it seems pretty simple:

basically you just add the photo to the comp and then use keyframes to move the anchor point in the layer (not the comp), and also use keyframes to adjust scale in the timeline.

But I'm not getting the move exactly right. It seems to zoom in and then go up a little before settling back down on the endpoint of the move. It doesn't match the move in Avid (which is fine except for the resolution). I've looked at the graph but can't figure out why it's doing this.

I've also found instructions on how to do this in this thread, which seems the same as the book. I think I'm following these instructions correctly but still not getting an exact match of the move originally made in Avid:

1) Go to File>New>New Project
2) Go to Composition>New Composition - make the comp the size you want your finished output to be e.g. PAL= 720x576, 25 fps etc.
3) Go to File>Import>File and import the image which you wish to pan.
4) Drag the image file from the Project window to the timeline (Command-/)
5) select the layer and hit the 'A' key to open up it's Anchor Point property.
6) Click on the stop watch to create the first keyframe
7) If you also want to animate Scale, hit Shift-Option-S to also bring up Scale and set a keyframe for it.
8) Move the current time marker to the place in time where you want the next pan to end.
9) Double-click the layer to open it up it's Layer Window.