ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

no sound and slow motion after rendered with AE CS4

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Beata Jambor
no sound and slow motion after rendered with AE CS4
on Jul 4, 2011 at 3:25:28 pm

Hi Everyone.

I am new to After effects and I have a problem with the sound in cs4.

I import my video file which contains sounds but somehow when I add it to the composition the sound disappears. It doesnt play with the preview nor when I render the edited movie.

Also after rendering the movie seems to be playing in slow motion.

Could anybody help me please?

Return to posts index

Kevin Camp
Re: no sound and slow motion after rendered with AE CS4
on Jul 4, 2011 at 3:53:03 pm

[Beata Jambor] " when I add it to the composition the sound disappears"

do you see a checkmark for the audio for the footage layer in the timeline? if not enable audio for the layer (add the checkmark).

if you can't enable the audio, select the footage file in the project panel, at the top of that panel it should show a thumbnail with audio levels bellow it and it should list the audio track's properties (stereo/mono, bit rate, etc.) to the right of the thumbnail.

if you don't see any of that, then ae isn't seeing the audio... double check the original file in vlc or other player to verify it is there, then reply back with the file format and codec of the file and we'll troubleshoot that.

[Beata Jambor] "It doesnt play with the preview nor when I render the edited movie."

when you preview are you hitting space-bar (standard preview) or zero on the numbers pad (ram preview). you should use ram previews in after effects. among the benefits of ram previews is it will playback with audio.

also, in composition>preview make sure that audio has a checkmark next to it.