ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Newbie Questions Regarding Project planning, AE Settings and Film (4k) advice please

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aurora ManningNewbie Questions Regarding Project planning, AE Settings and Film (4k) advice please
by on Jul 3, 2011 at 5:42:38 am

Hi All,

I apologize in advance for any dumb questions here. I've spent quite some time searching and reading and watching various tutorials but I just can't seem to find definitive answers. Also, I apologize if this is excessively lengthy, I'm just trying to provide adequate background information.

• I am relatively new to AE - I'm more comfortable with Flash and animation for the web but I am working on a project that has the potential to end up being displayed on a cinema screen (film festivals and such). I've never done something intended to be seen in a theatre.

I have no clue exactly how that part will be done (type of projector set up etc.).
    It's sort of a trade off: loads of creative freedom, relatively low pressure with deadlines etc. - in exchange for very little certainty.
    More of a labour of love and a learning experience than a well defined, contractual gig.

I have no intention of actually rendering this project at full cinema scale myself because I know my system can't handle it.

I do need to render it for web viewing.

I just want to make sure that I plan it in such a way that if it actually does need to be rendered for movie screen viewing I can successfully turn over all my files to someone who is capable of rendering it because it would just kill me if it got that far only to find that I had not planned accordingly.

I am keeping everything organized within a main folder.

• There are no film footage or video footage assets being used (nothing shot with a camera)as of now.