ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Chainsaw blood effect... any suggestions?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chad KoChainsaw blood effect... any suggestions?
by on Jun 27, 2011 at 4:33:06 pm

Hello,

I'm new to After Effects and green screen work. I do a lot of my own makeup effects but the scene I'm going to shoot will likely require green screen.

This is for a really low budget horror movie, and a pretty graphic scene.

I have to shoot something that's like a medium to close up of a person that is tied to a chair with their head strapped back, exposing their neck a lot. Then we have the villain plug in an electric chainsaw, and begins to cut at the victims neck.

Pretty crazy...

I don't want to do a whole life cast of the actor and go through all that expense of creating a fake look-alike dummy...

I was thinking of doing a green screen background, and making something similar to a persons neck and paint that green, fill it with blood and measure the distance of where the chainsaw in the scene would be compared to the CG shot, as well as light it the same way.

Then, shoot the scene showing the chainsaw cut at the green "neck" with green backdrop, and in aftereffects, key out all the green so that all you would see is the chainsaw and the blood.

Add that as an overlay of the actual scene, so that it looks like the chainsaw is really there in the scene cutting the victims neck. It would be a quick shot, maybe only 2 seconds. Shooting with RED ONE MX.

I hope this makes sense, and if so, do you think I am making the right approach? Again, I am new to digital effects...

Thanks!

-Chad

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Chainsaw blood effect... any suggestions?
by on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:47:14 pm