ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

After Effects CS4 Memory Settings for OSX

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tiff McGinnisAfter Effects CS4 Memory Settings for OSX
by on May 13, 2011 at 10:47:37 am

Hi All!

I am a self taught computer person and dont understand alot of the lingo. I have been using after effects for a few years. Im having memory problems, it's rendering slow and wont let me do multi processing... It's probably because my imac is 3 years old, BUT I thought I would ask anyway.

Can some one tell me ---

1. how much RAM to leave for other applications?? I have it at 2GB

2. minimum allocation per CPU?? I have it at 1GB

3. CPU's to leave for other applications? It's set at 1, I cant change it

Im on an imac

3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

4GB 800 MHz DDR2

I have tried to read threads about memory, but cant seem to get my head around it... Also I just threw away alot of stuff and have 429 Gigs available, dunno if that would help performance??

I will say on my laptop which is new, but only a macbook, it seems to be multiprocessing frames and rendering a bit faster, so maybe that it??

thanx for your help!

tiff mcginnis

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: After Effects CS4 Memory Settings for OSX
by on May 13, 2011 at 3:38:12 pm

with 4gb of ram, you'll want to keep 'render multiple frames simultaneously' off. ae can still use the other core(s) for any render processes/effects that are multithreaded, so don't feel like your wasting cores completely.

for ram for other apps, i'd have that no less than 1gb and probably no more than 2gb (half your total ram).