ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

My After Effects needs RED BULL

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Will SchryverMy After Effects needs RED BULL
by on Apr 27, 2011 at 6:05:20 pm

Hi,

I am very new to Adobe CS5 and am just trying to teach myself via tutorials etc etc
So pls excuse the lack of knowledge

Having some trouble with After Effects running so slowly and without sound to the point where it's almost useless, now i have read hundreds of post about this and have messed about with RAM preferences and everything like that but still no joy

When creating a 10sec flashy title effect not a problem will do this without too much fuss but introduce some video and it grinds to a halt.

I purchased Digieffects Damage package which has some cool effects but if i apply them 1. The preview takes an age making preset adjustments almost impossible 2. If you finally battle through it when you come to render and export it comes out jittery and will only play back correctly in Premiere Pro and even if you re render and create a film from Premiere Pro the Jitteryness re appears

Can anyone shed some light on this for me before i through my Mac out the window

System is iMac i7 8GB Mac OS X 10.6.7
After effects preferences:
Ram reserved for other applications 2GB
Installed CPU's 8
RAM allocation per background 1.5GB
Actual CPU's Used 2

Source footage is from a Sony NEX 5 AVCHD

Should possibly ad Premiere Pro works perfectly without a hitch

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: My After Effects needs RED BULL
by on Apr 27, 2011 at 6:31:33 pm

Turn off multiprocessing. Do it now.

At work I have a dual quad-core machine with 8 gigs, and I wouldn't DREAM of using multiprocessing: I simply don't have enough memory to make it work efficiently.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: My After Effects needs RED BULL