ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Another After Effect Composition Settings Question

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joseph CampbellAnother After Effect Composition Settings Question
by on Apr 19, 2011 at 8:43:23 pm

I'm still fairly new to After Affects and I am unable to find a definite answer to my question.

I'm trying to figure out what settings do I need when creating my composition.

Additional Info:
1. I want widescreen footage.
2. I will be adding black bars to the top & Bottom of my comp(film look)
3. Im shooting with a Sony Nex Vg-10 which outputs 1080p footage
4. Importing final comps to Encore, to put on DVD.

My Question:
Do I select NTSC or NTSC widescreen? DV or D1
If I select NTSC widescreen, can I render this to fit on a standard DVD without having to modify aspect ratio or comp size.

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Another After Effect Composition Settings Question
by on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:31:11 pm

You want your final comp to be NTSC Widescreen.
What happens when you use video in Encore that fits those settings is that it creates an anamorphic widescreen DVD. What that means is that on a 4:3 TV, you'll have the black bars at the top and bottom, but on a 16:9 (widescreen) TV, it'll fill the screen like it's supposed to.

Now, keep in mind a DVD can only do video at 720x480.

Your camera is shooting at 1920x1080. If you're planning to do a lot of motion stabilization or digital zooming on your picture, that's fine, but if not, you might as well set your camera to record at a smaller frame size if it has that option. (Unless you're planning to include an HD version of your video on the DVD-ROM portion of the disc for them to play back in a computer. In which case, you'll want your AE comp sizes to all be 1920x1080.)