ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Basic Masking? I think!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ravi Kanda
Basic Masking? I think!
on Apr 18, 2011 at 8:30:44 pm

Hi Guys

I was wondering if somebody could help me on some AE basics.

I just wanted to know how I would create these bars in AE?

I did this in Photoshop but wish to do it in AE.

Would I have to create 2 yellow rectangle shape layers and use a red mask layer to cover the yellow?

Also, what is the maximum movie length I could import into AE to animate?

Is it better to edit in my movie editor before I bring the footage into AE? Or should I just edit it all in AE?

Sorry, I'm a total newbie.

All help would be great!

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Basic Masking? I think!
on Apr 18, 2011 at 9:20:11 pm

[Ravi Kanda] "I did this in Photoshop but wish to do it in AE."

AE is a lot like Photoshop in several ways, but just different enough to make learning it really aggravating without some help. I think I can Illustrate what I mean.....

[Ravi Kanda] "Would I have to create 2 yellow rectangle shape layers and use a red mask layer to cover the yellow?"

• I'd make ONE rectangular shape layer and duplicate it three times. Now they're all the same size.
  • Temporarily turn off the visibility on the bottom two, and position the top two as desired.
  • Temporarily turn off the visibility on the top two, turn the bottom two back on, and change their colors to red. Now turn every layer back on.
  • Copy the position property from a yellow layer to a red layer. Move the red layers to the top so they hide the yellow ones.
  • Make a comp-sized solid, duplicate it, and use the solids as track mattes for the red layers. Animate the solids' position properties to reveal the red layers; to get that sudden motion, you can use Hold keyframes.