ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Applying Holomatrix

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt Dey
Applying Holomatrix
on Apr 8, 2011 at 8:00:40 pm

I am new to after effects and i have just gotten the holomatrix plug-in. Since i don't know a lot about either of the two i am trying to find information on both. When i apply holomatrix to a video in a composition, it turns the whole video into a hologram, so if i wanted to make only a person a hologram, how would i do that?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Applying Holomatrix
on Apr 8, 2011 at 8:16:38 pm

You'd have to isolate the subject from the background.

It can be done -- painfully -- by masking and animating the masks, sometimes on a frame-by-frame basis.

It can be done by chroma keying, assuming you have a good chroma key background, you can properly light for chroma key, and your camera is NOT a DSLR, HDV cam, Flip cam or XDCam. Okay, you can have one of those cameras, but don't expect jaw-dropping results.

It possibly can be done with AE's new Rotobrush, but you can NOT expect to use it intuitively -- you absolutely must use the Rotobush training resources linked to in AE's online help.

As they say, pick your poison.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Matt Dey
on Apr 8, 2011 at 9:19:30 pm

Well thank you for the qucik response, I have after effects cs4, which would you chose to tackle this problem?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
on Apr 8, 2011 at 10:02:40 pm

I'd go with a chroma key. Learn how to use Keylight:
http://www.thefoundry.co.uk/products/keylight/training/
http://library.creativecow.net/search.php?q=keylight+%22Video+Tutorial%22

If you don't have access to studio lights, take your chroma key background outside and shoot it there. Keep the subject at least 6 feet away from the background. Use the best camera you can.

Dave LaRonde